Alice, a mermaid and Poseidon,oh my!

I have been working on several projects lately. I had intended to focus solely on the Wonderland theme but my mom had surgery recently and she’s come to stay with us. It’s a little hard to have my canvas and paints out right now. It doesn’t bother me because I got Alice out of my system before my mom actually had surgery,I was able to finish her the day before,actually. And she was a painting I had been keen to work on and finish before going on to the Mad Hatter and White witch.

Alice

 

I’m still getting art time but I’m more focused on getting better at drawing from life (I’m not sharing these at this time,or maybe ever) and also doing some watercolor work. I stumbled upon this mermaid that I had drawn for a Summer of Color challenge last year…or the year before,not really sure. I decided that I wanted to add color to her and this is her now:

Mermaid

I’ve been wanting to try participating in Illustration Friday and I noticed this week’s theme was beards. Who better to draw a beard for than Poseidon? (My husband walked by pre-color and thought I was drawing a shirtless Santa so okay,there are other options when illustrating beards but Poseidon was my choice. My Siren needed a daddy…or something.

Poseidon

I’m thinking of working onย a mermaid on canvas series in the future,right after my Wonderland canvases are done,of course. Or maybe during? Sometimes you have to let paint dry afterall. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m submitting the mermaid and Alice for Paint Party Friday

and the bearded Poseidon for Illustration Friday.

14 thoughts on “Alice, a mermaid and Poseidon,oh my!

I'd love to know what you think!

