There is a nude in this post

Hey,How you doin?(If you read that in a Joey from Friends voice you read it correctly.:) )

Ahem. As someone who isn’t quite as comfty with the whole nudity thing as I probably should be…you know,being a free spirit artist type and all that,it occurs to me that I kinda sprung my nude in progress on you guys without much warning.

I’m sorry.

Unless it didn’t bother you at all and you’re now wondering why on earth I’m going on and on about it. In that case just disregard what you just read.

Or don’t and realize that I’m actually not all that free spirity when it comes right down to it.

I’m actually the tinniest bit square. I don’t even jay walk,people.

I was dared to shop lift gum in high school once and I broke into a sweat,heart palpitations and think I might have knocked over a display as I ran out of the shop gumless.

I didn’t look back so I’m hoping it was a display of some kind and not a person that I barreled into.

The point to all of this is that I’m not comfortable drawing nudes but that I’m a lover of the Winged Victory of Samothrace and this painting is a modern nod to that piece of sculpture.

A nod mind you- I knew that this was going to be an undertaking that would be loosely based on something I love and that I meant it to capture emotion. I didn’t know that it would go dark but there were some worrisome things going on when I was working on it.

It’s nude and not wrapped in diaphanous clothing because I’m not all that skilled at painting clothing yet..especially anything ethereal and barely there. It’s also nude because I wanted to challenge myself past my comfort zone.

I’ve written before that I don’t work on bodies very often, my comfort zone being faces. This was a challenge to myself and I’m glad I did it.

My husband says it look unfinished and I agree with him but I am still putting it aside for now. I kind of like unfinished….

I’m stalling,I know it.

This is my painting as it is at the moment.

I have no idea where to put this painting while I figure out what to do with it next. It’s in my bedroom for the moment because I’ve began using our garage as an art studio but I didn’t really want to keep it in there. I figure the bedroom is probably a better alternative than the living room though so for now there it will stay.

Until my inlaws come over visit next year anyway.

 

 

9 thoughts on “There is a nude in this post

    • Thanks Bridget! I think it’s just unfinished compared to my husband’s work-he prefers things cleaner and more well blending where I tend to prefer things left a little more raw- I could see working on it again in the future maybe but not at this time

I'd love to know what you think!

