The last Summer Of Color post

I worked on these on Friday but am barely posting them now.

There was a power outage and then the scanner was acting up and then my computer’s charger went out again.

These are all valid excuses, but in reality? Maybe I was just a little sad to do the last Summer of Color 2 inspired blog post? It’s been a heck of a lot of fun and I’ve visited so many, many wonderful artists over the past six weeks.

There is one thing that fills me with a little relief however.

This was a Summer of Color 2…I’m going to tell myself that surely there will be a Summer of Color 3. That? Is something I can look forward to. 🙂

This was our prompt for the week:

And this is the image that came to my mind and would not go away until I painted it.

I showed her to my mother and she absolutely hates it- but I’ve tried to explain that my fire lady is more super hero than demon. Or maybe super villain…I don’t know she’s got a feisty temper,this one.

After I painted her I painted this in the recycled box journal that I made:

My mother likes this one much better.

Happy Last Summer of Color everybody I will be by shortly or maybe eventually is a better word? But I will be by to see every single one of you Si Dios Queire as my momma would say.  (It means God Willing and is the term all God-fearing people of Spanish descent must say after making any kind of plans…lest they be struck down where they sit.)

On a slightly more cheery note: I absolutely love you guys and I’ve admired,been inspired, and I thank you for putting your arty goodness out there.

Lyd

13 thoughts on “The last Summer Of Color post

  1. Hi!

    Feisty is the word that sprang to my mind… in a totally good way!

    You have to paint what you have the urge to paint!

    Your butterflies are sweet 🙂 I’m glad your mum liked those. Your mum sounds fun!

    Karenx

    • Thank you,she is very fun and very honest with her opinions which can be helpful,lol.
      I love the word fiesty and I agree you gotta paint what you want to paint! 🙂

  2. Firey Lady is good but I have to agree with your Mum the journal pages are my favourite. Recycled box journal – now that sounds quite curious 🙂 BJ

    • Thanks.
      It was fun to make and jenniebellie makes a great tutorial, unfortunately I forgot to poke holes in my pages first and that made stiching them together kind of hard. The next one I make should go smoother. 🙂

  3. So this is where you do most of your blogging these days. I wondered why your squidwrite blog only had one July entry.

    You are a really talented artist!

    I don’t know if it’s a regional thing, but I’m more familiar with “con el favor de Dios” as the “let’s plan on doing this tomorrow, lest I be struck by lightning” phrase.

    • Hi Niccole! Yeah- my laptop charger melted on me and the past two replacements have done the same-in the meantime I started devoting more time to drawing&painting and then got hooked on art journaling and making art journals. 🙂 I hope to start writing more again soon though it’s just hard to do online right now because I’m sharing my husband’s work computer with him til I find a charger. Thank you for following me here! I need to catch up with everyone. xx

I'd love to know what you think!

